Get Excited

“Get excited about life” was something I used to say all the time my freshman year of college. I was always telling my roommates to get excited about life on our way to class or when someone was a little bummed or tired. In the morning I would drink about 2 cups of coffee and tell my roommates to get excited and I’m sure there were times that they wanted to slap me for it. I am not necessarily one of those really peppy, super encouraging people. I’m actually closer to the opposite but there was something about freshman year. I was so happy to be in college and I enjoyed all the time I spent with my roommates and others I met that year. I was excited to learn and figure out what I was interested in and what I wanted to do. I really just felt like I belonged there.

I have been a college graduate for a year now and I want to feel that way again. Graduating college is exciting but then you are out in the real world and quickly realize that the real world sucks. Especially, when you have a liberal arts degree. Now, I’m not saying I’m not happy with my life but, I am not excited about my life. I go to work, come home, complain about work and then go back to work. Of course, I know I’m lucky to have my full-time customer service job but I have this gnawing feeling inside of me that I can do more and this fear that I will get stuck at this boring, monotonous, infuriating job forever. Customer service takes a certain kind of person and I am not it nor do I want to try to be.

So, that is why I am starting this blog. I want to give this whole writing thing a try. Looking back at college, what I learned and the skills that I developed, writing just stood out. When I first started college, I hated any class that required me to write a paper but as I had to write more of them I got better at it. My senior year of college, I still struggled with the whole procrastination and focus aspect of paper writing but once I completed a paper I realized how much I learned and it felt good to turn in something I had worked so hard on to finish. As much as I hated writing papers and was afraid of the challenge a part of me also enjoyed the challenge and accomplishing something I didn’t think I could. I have decided I need to be scared and challenged like I was in college so what better way than writing. Time to get excited about life!


Leave a comment